Bayinah Academy


Our curriculum is balanced, broad and relevant to our learners.

We offer the British National Curriculum with the goal of preparing our students to take up opportunities on the world stage. This curriculum is recognized internationally with students sitting for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) examinations upon completion.

We offer our curriculum as per the stages below:

Early Years Foundation StageAge 2-5
Primary – Key Stages 1 and 2Age 5-11
Lower Secondary – Key Stage 3Age 11-14
Secondary – Key Stage 4 (IGCSE)Age 14-16
Sixth Form – Key Stage 5 (A-Level, IB, BTEC)Age 16-18

Early Years Foundation Stage

In our Early Years Classes, the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is followed. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These prime areas, are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

The three prime areas are strengthened and applied through the other four specific areas. The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

Primary – Key Stages 1 and 2

The primary curriculum has at its heart the development of core literacy and mathematical skills that are transferable in other learning contexts and subjects, alongside developing the attributes of our children to be confident, active learners and responsible global citizens.

Bayinah’s curriculum is based upon the National British Curriculum but includes additional learning opportunities that we plan for all our pupils to enhance, extend and internationalise the curriculum. We do this through performing arts, sports, outdoor learning, social responsibility, adapting the topics taught and an extensive co-curricular programme.

Lower Secondary – Key Stage 3

In Years 11-14 pupils follow an internationalised version of the National British Curriculum that ensures key skills and competencies are developed. Opportunities for the development of skills such as leadership, problem solving, collaboration and enquiry are built into the curriculum and enhanced by a wide variety of co-curricular programmes.

Secondary – Key Stage 4

In Years 14-16 pupils study the subjects selected for the IGCSE examinations, usually taken at the end of Year 11. Pupils are encouraged to study a broad range of subjects, so enabling a wide choice of career. These examinations are recognised across the world and are of considerable interest to university admissions officers.

A personalised approach allows pupils to choose subjects that best fit their strengths and career hopes. Pupils are able to sit examinations early, or to study additional subjects, where appropriate. Throughout the IGCSE course, the pupils are supported by expert staff and offered a range of extra curricular activities designed to develop personal skills.

Sixth form – Key Stage 5

Pupils and parents, together with an experienced guidance counsellor, choose the path the pupil will follow to university. There are several alternative, two year courses available.

Ongoing Admission

Don’t miss out on the ongoing Admission for all years